Three years ago today…

October 15, 2008 at 2:35 pm (family, personal) (, , , , )

Angela & Frederick Breedon

Today Freddy and I celebrate our 3 year anniversary.  It’s hard to believe that my life just started 3 years ago!  Yes, I know I’m 30 (cough, cough) years old, but this life is only 3.

4 years and 5 days ago I had the good sense to go out on a date with a guy named “Rick” that I met through an on-line dating service.  We had emailed & IMed back and forth a couple of times and spoken on the phone SEVERAL times (the first time was for over 3 hours).  In one of our phone conversations he confessed that Rick was his “meeting girls name”.  We arranged to meet for lunch on Sunday, October 10, 2004.  We met up at Best Buy in Cool Springs because  I wanted to buy a DVD/VCR combo unit.  My VCR had just died and I needed to enter the 21st Century.  After watching him show off his technical expertise and how he interacted with the salesperson, we left Best Buy with my purchase.  The next stop was Buca di Beppo for lunch.  Neither of us had been there before and we didn’t realize that it was a family style restaurant.  Which meant we would have to agree on what we ordered.  Could have been a nightmare for a first date, but we made it through agreeing on Parmesan Chicken & Broccoli.  After lunch, since we were still enjoying each other’s company, we decided to find something else to do in the area.   We had left my car at Best Buy and Freddy had driven us to Buca.  While driving through the Cool Springs mall parking lot, Freddy mistimed his turn at a 4 way stop and had to swerve greatly in order to keep us from being hit.  (He’ll say that it wasn’t that bad, but don’t listen to him!)  I was extremely startled so I gasped.  Freddy apparently took offense to this and told me to “Shut up”.  I, being the strong southern woman that I am, immediate became irate and started expressing my disbelief that he DARED to speak to me in such a way.  Especially on our 1st date!  After a heart beat and a half of “Oh NO, what have I done!” on Freddy’s part, he realized that I was just giving him a hard time.  I think that’s what sealed the deal for him.  (For those of you that may not know me very well, you need to take the last 6-7 sentences with the intended over exaggerations and sarcasm.)

After our brush with death, we ended up at Starbucks where we sat out on the patio, got to know each other a bit better and discussed the teenager sitting nearby who looked like Ducky from Pretty in Pink. After 10 minutes or so of conversation, we hit a lull and I noticed he was just looking at me. “What?” “Can’t a guy stare?” Any other guy, any other time, any other situation I would have thought “pompous a_ _!”. But that confidence and admiration is what sealed it for me.

Happy Anniversary Rrrrick!

Leave a comment